Nano-Micro Letters

NML Researcher Award 2017

The NML Researcher Award 2017

Important Information
How to Submit
Required Documents
How are Applications Assessed

We are pleased to announce that the NML Researcher Award 2017 is open for application. The NML Researcher Award is sponsored by the journal of Nano-Micro Letters (Open Access, No publication Fee). The editorial board of Nano-micro Letters serves as the award committee. The award aims to encourage researchers to create more innovation in Nano and Micro science.

Nano-Micro Letters
2016 Impact Factor: 4.849
Editorial Office of Nano-Micro Letters
Tel: 86-21-34207624
Web: or
Nano-Micro Letters is an Open-Access, peer-reviewed, international journal reported original latest advances and reviews that have at least one dimension ranging from a few sub-nanometers to a few hundreds of micrometers. The journal is published by Springer and indexed by SCI, SCOPUS, DOAJ, Google Scholar, CNKI, CSCD, CSPD, etc. 
Journal website: or
Journal APP: You can find "nano micro letters" in app store and view all publications freely.

email facebook twitter wechat


  • Each awardee of the NML Researcher Award 2017 will receive $2000 US dollars and an electronic award certificate. 
  • There are totally 15 awardees of the NML Researcher Award 2017. The name list of all awardees will be announced on and the official website of Nano-Micro Letters on June 30th 2018.
  • Please note that you are NOT required to mail any hard copies of documents to the editorial office of Nano-Micro Letters or NRS Office. We shall not be responsible for any loss of documents.

How to submit an application?

Considering researchers’ opinion and, to simplify the application process, this year please submit your applications to Nano-Micro Letters via Please select “For Application of NML Researcher Award” when submitting your documents.

award nrs


Required documents

A brief CV (Please choose “Supplemental File Not for Review” when uploading it.) and A manuscript (original research or review). The manuscript will be peer reviewed. Excellent manuscripts will be published in the journal Nano-Micro Letters. The best 15 manuscripts will be awarded the “NML Researcher Award 2017” and $2000 US dollars in cash.

How are applications assessed?

Complete applications are assessed and ranked based on the applicant’s professional qualities, academic competence and, most importantly, the received comments of the submitted manuscripts from referees and the editorial board members.

What is the timetable for applications?

Applications open on 1 October 2017 and will close on 30 May 2018. Late applications will not be considered.
Final results will be released on June 30 2018.  All applicants will be notified about the status of their application by July 2018 at the latest.

NML Researcher Award 2017 Overview  
Number of Awardees       15
Award       $2000 and an electronic certificate
Application Deadline       May 30 2018
Natalie Artzi NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree

NML Researcher Award 2016 Recipients Announced


The Nano-Micro Letters, in partnership with the Nature Research Society (NRS), is pleased to announce the recipients of the NML Researcher Award 2016. The NML Researcher Award is established to recognize research excellence in the field of nano and micro science, with special consideration for those who have continuously made outstanding contributions to the development of science in last three years.


Editor in Chief, Dr. Yafei (Anderson) Zhang: "All the applicants are excellent and outstanding in their research. I would like to honor all the applicants with the award if possible. However, this year we can only honor 15 outstanding researchers. I would like to say sorry to those eminent researchers who didn't get the award. Thank all of you for your contribution to the advancement of science, and thank all of you for your support to Nano-Micro Letters. "

    Dr.  Natalie Artzi
    Brigham and Women's Hospital
    Harvard Medical School and MIT


xiaodong Cheng NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Xiaodong Chen
    Nanyang Technological University

Petr Cígler NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree

    Dr. Petr Cigler
    The Czech Academy of Sciences
    Czech Republic

Conde NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. João Conde
    MIT & Queen Mary University
    United Kingdom


Jürgen Groll NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Juergen Groll
    University of Wuerzburg


Elena Ivanova NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Elena Ivanova
    Swinburne Univeristy of Technology

Ali Khademhosseini NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Ali Khademhosseini
    Harvard University

Dehui Li NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree

    Dr. Dehui Li
    Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Angelos Michaelides NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Angelos Michaelides
    University College London
    United Kingdom


Dipanjan Pan NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Dipanjan Pan
    University ofIllinois at Urbana-Champaign

KUN QIAN NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Kun Qian
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Jeffrey J Urban Nature Researh Society NML Researcher Award Honoree

    Dr. Jeffrey J. Urban
    Lawrence Berkeley National Labs


Daniela A Wilson NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree    Dr. Daniela A. Wilson
    Radboud University Nijmegen

Yadong Yin NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree

    Dr. Yadong Yin
    University of California, Riverside

Yong Zhang NRS NML Researcher Award Honoree

    Dr. Yong Zhang
    National University of Singapore (NUS)